الحجر البني » مقالات لروبن كورنر

روبن كورنر

روبن كورنر مواطن بريطاني الجنسية بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، ويشغل حاليًا منصب العميد الأكاديمي لمعهد جون لوك. وهو حاصل على شهادات عليا في كل من الفيزياء وفلسفة العلوم من جامعة كامبريدج (المملكة المتحدة).

غير الملقحين

كيف حصل "غير الملقحين" على حق

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

إن الإصرار المستمر على طرح "اللقاح" على جميع السكان عندما كشفت البيانات أن أولئك الذين ليس لديهم أمراض مصاحبة كانوا معرضين لخطر منخفض للإصابة بمرض شديد أو الوفاة من COVID كان بالتالي غير أخلاقي وغير علمي في ظاهره. إن الحجة القائلة بأن انخفاض الانتقال من غير المعرضين للخطر إلى المستضعفين نتيجة "التطعيم" الجماعي لا يمكن أن تظل قائمة إلا إذا تم إثبات سلامة "اللقاح" على المدى الطويل ، وهو ما لم يحدث.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
الأخلاق والفضيلة والشجاعة

التحول من الأخلاق الشخصية إلى الأخلاق الموضعية

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

الشجاعة الأخلاقية محفوفة بالمخاطر: لها ثمن ، وهذا هو سبب تسميتها بالشجاعة. كما أعلن أرسطو ، "الشجاعة هي الفضيلة الأولى لأنها تجعل كل الفضائل الأخرى ممكنة." إذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، وكان كذلك ، فإن القدرة على عكس المحاولات لإعادة تشكيل المجتمع الغربي إلى مجتمع خالٍ من القيم الأخلاقية الأساسية التي تمكّن جميع الأفراد من الازدهار بسلام تكمن في النهاية - وفقط - داخل كل فرد. 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
ليس هناك ما تخفيه

هل ليس لديك حقًا ما تخفيه؟

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

حكومتي ، التي وجدت لحمايتي ، تزيل الحقوق والامتيازات من الناس بشكل تعسفي بناءً على معلومات كاذبة تولدها. في بعض الأحيان يفعلون ذلك بشكل عشوائي (مثل أثناء الجائحة) ؛ في بعض الأحيان يختارون أهدافهم (مثل ما حدث لي في المطار). 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
حيازة أيديولوجية

الحيازة الأيديولوجية هي الوباء الحقيقي

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

على الرغم من أن أوبئة الحيازة الأيديولوجية يمكن أن تكون قاتلة لمجتمعات بأكملها ، إلا أن المرض يوفر فوائد فورية لكل فرد مصاب ، مثل اليقين الفكري والاستقرار ، ومشاعر التفوق الأخلاقي ، وتبسيط واضح لقرارات وأسئلة الحياة الصعبة ، وتجنب المسؤولية الأخلاقية الحقيقية ، والشعور بالانتماء بين الآخرين المصابين بالمثل. كل هذه تميل إلى منع العلاج الذاتي. 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
هل الصين تستعد للحرب؟

هل الصين تستعد للحرب؟

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

إن التباين في القوة على المدى الطويل بين تايوان والصين كبير جدًا لدرجة أن تايوان ببساطة ليس لديها أي احتمال واقعي للدفاع عن نفسها ضد الصين الصبورة والمصممة. وإذا كان التاريخ والسياسة الصينيان يعلمان أي شيء على الإطلاق ، فهو أن الصينيين المستبدين يمكنهم التحلي بالصبر.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
معلومات محدودة

مطالبة "المعلومات المحدودة" تلعنهم

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

إن أهم واجبات صانعي السياسات هو النظر الصادق في جميع المعلومات المتاحة بشكل معقول والتي تؤثر على عواقب أفعالهم - وبذلك ، يجب الحرص بشكل ما على الحجم المحتمل (ناهيك عن المقدار المتوقع) من عواقب تلك الأعمال. من واجب العناية الواجبة. كان جميع المسؤولين الأمريكيين تقريبًا مهملين في هذا الواجب.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

الخدمة وضبط النفس: مبادئ الحكم المفقودة 

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

كانت الملكة تتصرف دائمًا بضبط النفس الشديد ، ولم تتصرف أبدًا تجاه الآخرين بطريقة غير مقبولة ، بغض النظر عن آرائها الخاصة. تستند السياسة الحديثة ، التي تقودها الدولة الإدارية ، إلى مبدأ معاكس ، تم الشعور به بشكل أكثر عمقًا واتساعًا من المعتاد في الآونة الأخيرة: فهي تعتبر نفسها قادرة على فعل ما تختاره تمامًا لأي شخص تختاره ، استنادًا تمامًا إلى ما يخصها المباشر. نظرا للوضع السائد. 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

كيف تحول الإشارات الفضيلة إلى نواب

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

المشكلة الأخلاقية هنا هي أنه بغض النظر عن النية ، فإن المشارك في بدعة تصريحية يستفيد عن علم وشخصي من الظلم دون القيام بأي شيء لتصحيح الخطأ الذي يتم الحصول منه على تلك المنفعة الشخصية. إن القيام بذلك يعني الاستفادة بشكل طفيف من هذا الظلم المطروح دون تقديم نفس القدر من الفوائد لأي شخص آخر على الأقل.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

كيف يجعل القرب التقدميين

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

تميل الثقة في الحكومة وقدرتها على حل المشكلات دائمًا إلى أن تكون أعلى في المناطق الحضرية. تميل الحلول الحكومية إلى تقييد العمل الفردي ، وهذا أيضًا يميل إلى التسامح أكثر في المناطق الأكثر اكتظاظًا بالسكان. عبر الثقافات والأزمنة ، ارتبطت المناطق ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية بمزيد من المواقف التقدمية سياسياً وثقافياً ، والتي تجلى في رغبة أكبر في الثقة بالسلطة الحكومية ومتابعة قيادتها.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
طلب تويتر أن أقول كذبة

طلب تويتر أن أقول كذبة

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

في حياتي ، تم تجديد المجتمع بما يكفي ليجعلني أحد المهمشين. الملايين من الناس يحتفلون بذلك. إذا لم يفعلوا ذلك ، فلن نكون هنا. أعتقد أنني سأبدأ في استخدام هذا التعبير - أحد الهوامش - واستخدامه ، إذا سمحت لي ، مع قليل من الفخر الأخلاقي.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
ابق على اطلاع مع براونستون

Brownstone » Articles for Robin Koerner

Robin Koerner

Robin Koerner is a British-born citizen of the USA, who currently serves as Academic Dean of the John Locke Institute. He holds graduate degrees in both Physics and the Philosophy of Science from the University of Cambridge (U.K.).

The Unvaccinated

How the “Unvaccinated” Got It Right

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

The continued insistence on rolling out the “vaccine” to the entire population when the data revealed that those with no comorbidities were at low risk of severe illness or death from COVID was therefore immoral and ascientific on its face. The argument that reduced transmission from the non-vulnerable to the vulnerable as a result of mass “vaccination” could only stand if the long-term safety of the “vaccine” had been established, which it had not.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
morality, virtue, and courage

The Shift from Personal to Positional Morality

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Moral courage is risky: it has a price, which is why it is called courage. As Aristotle famously declared, “Courage is the first virtue because it makes all other virtues possible.” If that is true, and it is, then the power to reverse attempts to remake Western society into one devoid of the fundamental moral values that enable all individuals to thrive peacefully lies ultimately – and only – within each individual. 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
nothing to hide

Do You Really Have Nothing to Hide?

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

My government, which exists to protect me, arbitrarily removes rights and privileges from people based on false information that it generates. Sometimes they do it indiscriminately (such as during the pandemic); sometimes they pick their targets (such as what happened to me at the airport). 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
ideological possession

Ideological Possession Is the Real Pandemic

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Although pandemics of ideological possession can be fatal to entire societies, the disease provides immediate benefits to each afflicted individual, such as intellectual certainty and stability, feelings of moral superiority, an apparent simplification of life’s difficult decisions and questions, avoidance of true moral responsibility, and a sense of belonging among others similarly afflicted. All of these tend to prevent self-treatment. 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
Is China preparing for war?

Is China Preparing for War?

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

The long-run power disparity between Taiwan and China is so great that Taiwan simply has no realistic prospect of defending itself against a patient and determined China. And if Chinese history and politics teach anything at all, it is that the authoritarian Chinese can be patient.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
limited information

The “Limited Information” Claim Damns Them

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

The most basic duty of policy-makers is the honest consideration of all reasonably available information that bears on the consequences of their actions – and in so doing, to take care in some proportion to the potential (let alone, the predicted) magnitude of the consequences of those actions. It is the duty of due diligence. Almost all American officials were derelict in that duty.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Service and Restraint: Lost Principles of Governance 

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

The Queen acted always with great restraint, and never upon others in a way unconsented to, whatever her own views were. Modern politics, driven by the Administrative State, is based on an opposite principle, felt even more deeply and widely than usual in recent times: it regards itself as able to do exactly as it chooses to anyone it chooses, based entirely on its own immediate view of a prevailing situation. 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

How Signaling Turns Virtue Into Vice

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

The moral problem here is that, regardless of intent, a participant in a declarative fad is knowingly and personally benefiting from an injustice without doing anything to put right the wrong from which that personal benefit is being extracted. To do so is to benefit slightly from the very injustice at issue without providing at least as much benefit to anyone else.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

How Proximity Makes Progressives

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Trust in government and its ability to solve problems has always tended to be higher in more urban areas. Government solutions tend to constrain individual action, and this too tends to be tolerated more in more populated areas. Across cultures and times, areas of higher population density have been associated with more politically and culturally progressive attitudes, manifested in a greater willingness to trust governmental power and to follow its lead.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
Twitter Demanded that I Tell a Lie

Twitter Demanded that I Tell a Lie

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

In my lifetime, society has been sufficiently remade to make me one of the marginals. Millions of people celebrate that. If they did not, we could not be here. I think I am going to start using that expression – one of the marginals – and using it, if you’ll excuse me, with just a little dash of moral pride.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
Stay Informed with Brownstone