الحجر البني » مقالات لديفيد ماكجروغان

ديفيد ماكجروغان

ديفيد ماكجروغان أستاذ مشارك في القانون بكلية نورثمبريا للقانون.

معاملة الرحمة بوحشية 

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

خلال حقبة كوفيد ، نرى نفس المخطط مكتوبًا بشكل كبير في الردود التي اتخذتها الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم. لأول مرة في تاريخ البشرية ، أتاح لنا توفر الاختبارات الجماعية إقناع أنفسنا بأنه يمكننا قياس صحة السكان ، بشكل كلي ، في الوقت الفعلي ، وإنشاء إحصاءات دقيقة تسمح لنا بالقيام بذلك - وصولاً إلى "الحالة" الأخيرة أو "الموت". 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

الشفقة غير مفككة: Robespierres of Lockdownism

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

بالنسبة إلى Robespierres من الإغلاق ، أصبح موضوع الشفقة أولئك "المعرضين" لـ Covid ، وواجه هذه "الكارثة الأكثر تلامسًا" احتياجات الطبقات الأخرى - وخاصة الأطفال والفقراء - التي لم تُحسب إلا قليلاً. في الواقع ، يمكن زيارة أعضاء هذه الفئات بكل أنواع القسوة بالنظر إلى الهدف الأكبر الذي يأمل أنصار الإغلاق في تحقيقه.


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

المجتمع مقابل الدولة: كندا تكشف عن الصراع الأساسي في عصرنا

مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني

لذلك فإن ازدراء جاستن ترودو لسائقي الشاحنات حقيقي وعميق. لا يرى فيها عقبة أمام سياسة Covid أو تهديدًا محتملاً للصحة العامة. حتى أنه لا يمكن أن يكون غبيًا لدرجة أنه يعتقد أنه من المهم ما إذا كان هؤلاء الأشخاص يأخذون لقاحاتهم أم لا. لا: إنه يحدد فيها حاجزًا أمام القوى التي يتشابك فيها مستقبله السياسي - نطاق ونطاق متزايدان للسلطة الحكومية ، وفرص دعم شرعيته التي ستنجم عنها. 


مشاركة | طباعة | البريد الإلكتروني
ابق على اطلاع مع براونستون

Brownstone » Articles for David McGrogan

David McGrogan

David McGrogan is Associate Professor of Law at Northumbria Law School.

The Brutalization of Compassion 

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

During the Covid era, we see the same schema writ large in the responses taken by governments across the globe. For the first time in human history, the availability of mass-testing allowed us to convince ourselves that we could measure the health of the population, holistically, in real time, and to generate precise statistics permitting us to do so – right down to the last ‘case’ or ‘death’. 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Compassion Unhinged: The Robespierres of Lockdownism

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

For the Robespierres of lockdownism, the object of pity became those “vulnerable” to Covid, and set against this “more touching calamity” the needs of other classes – chiefly children and the poor – were held to count for little. Indeed, the members of those classes could be visited with all manner of cruelties given the bigger goal the lockdown proponents hoped to achieve.


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Society vs State: Canada Reveals the Core Conflict of Our Age

SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL

Justin Trudeau’s contempt for the truckers is therefore genuine and profound. He sees in them not an obstacle to Covid policy or a potential threat to public health. Not even he could possibly be so stupid as to think it matters whether or not these people take their vaccines. No: he identifies in them a barrier to forces in which his political future is entwined – an ever-increasing scope and scale for governmental authority, and the opportunities to buttress his own legitimacy that would follow from it. 


SHARE | PRINT | EMAIL
Stay Informed with Brownstone